Eduardo L. Franco
Eduardo L. Franco, MPH, DrPH, FRSC, FCAHS, OC

This is the second time Dr Franco serves as IEA Councilor for the North American region. He was elected for the 2002-05 and 2017-20 triennia. He served also as the Chair of the Local Organizing Committee for the 16th IEA World Congress of Epidemiology in Montreal in 2002. He is Professor and Chairman, Department of Oncology, and Director, Division of Cancer Epidemiology, McGill University, Montreal, Canada. He trained in public health at University of North Carolina and at the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, and as a cancer epidemiologist at the National Institutes of Health, International Agency for Research on Cancer (IARC), and Louisiana State University. Since 1985, his research has focused on the molecular epidemiology and prevention of cervical cancer and human papillomavirus-associated diseases, cancers of the upper aero-digestive tract, prostate, endometrium, and childhood tumors; studies of epidemiologic methods for evaluating efficacy of cancer screening strategies; the impact of measurement error in epidemiology; and studies of societal and clinical influences on cancer patient survival. Much of his research has been international, with collaborative projects in Canada, Brazil, Mexico, the Congo Republic, United States, and with the IARC, in France. He has published more than 450 articles and two books. He received Lifetime Achievement Awards from the American Society for Colposcopy and Cervical Pathology and from the International Papillomavirus Society, the Women in US Government’s Leadership Award, the Canadian Cancer Society’s Warwick Prize, the Geoffrey Howe Outstanding Contribution Award from the Canadian Society for Epidemiology and Biostatistics, and the McLaughlin-Gallie Award from the Royal College of Physicians of Canada. He is the Editor-in-Chief of Preventive Medicine and served in the editorial boards of several leading journals in oncology and epidemiology. He is Officer of the Order of Canada and Fellow of the Royal Society of Canada and of the Canadian Academy of Health Sciences. He is a Foreign Member of the Brazilian Academy of Sciences.